Home

Mrmrs

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.”

— Yves Saint-Laurent

“Permanent Markers fade, Pebeo Pens are eternal”

— Claire Eden

As you know I love Pinterest for inspiration, but the reality can be frustrating. My first “pinfail” came about after being fooled into thinking that permanent marker pens could be used to decorate ceramics cups and plates. I tried every possible type of pen available and after the “wait and bake” the design simply wiped off. So disappointing.

After thinking about it for a while I tried the Pebeo Porcelain 150 Paint. It painted on so thick and gluggy (perhaps it was old) that I had little control and the result lacked the crisp finish I coveted from the millions of Pinterest images. So Ugly.

So I thought for a bit longer and tried sponging the paint through a riso stencil (super duper expensive and not easily available). I loved the result and used the cup everyday for the next 6 months. I even washed it in the dishwasher. Admittedly, it is starting to flake, but I was scratching it to see if it would. That’s almost scientific.

pebeo and riso

So I was still searching for the mythical pen that would leave beautiful crisp lines, when I remembered that Pebeo do a range of pens. It wasn’t long after that I found them in Spotlight. I love that store. The pens were less than $10 and came in a range of colours. I only bought black incase it was a fail. I’m happy to report that it is Awesome A+.

I would recommend drawing your design on paper before you go to town on the cup or plate. However mistakes can be wiped off. Now, if only I could remember what I wanted to write in the first place. The cups at the top of the blog were made for my friend’s Bridal Shower.

My Year 10 Fashion class will be having a go at this later in the year. They will write fashion quotes onto cups that they provide. For those who don’t bring in cups it will simply be a design task.

Leave a Reply

